THE BALVENIE DCS CHAPTER
On the slopes of the Convals, below the Glenfiddich distillery, is the Scottish malt whisky distillery THE BALVENIE, founded in 1892 by William J. Grant. William J. Grant also founded Glenfiddich and gave the present town of Dufftown the name Balvenie, which means “Village of Happiness”.
Already in May 1893, the first firing process took place at THE BALVENIE. When THE BALVENIE was established, savings had to be made and two used stills were bought from Lagavulin and Glen Albyn. In 1957, the number of stills was increased to four and in 1965, the distillery was renovated for the first time. A further renovation and enlargement of the whisky distillery took place in 1971. At that time David C Stewart was already working for the company, which started its unique career in the Scotch Whisky industry at Balvenie in 1962.
Until 1973, THE BALVENIE did not have its own distillery bottling. Until then, the whisky produced by THE BALVENIE had only been used for in-house veneering. Today, THE BALVENIE offers a wide range of standard distillery bottlings.
The distillery now has nine stills. Since the company was founded, the water used to make the whisky has come from the local sources of Robbie Dubh.
Due to the large production quantities, the malt cannot be provided entirely by the company’s own malting plant, which is why the distillery buys malt from large malting plants. The peat from THE BALVENIE is still hand-picked, cut and dried today.
In addition to the two old distilleries, the Kininvie distillery, the third distillery in this area, started production in 1990.