THE BALVENIE DCS CHAPTER

Malt Master David C Stewart (MBE)

BIOGRAPHY

David C. Stewart was born in 1945 in Ayr on the west coast of Scotland and began his training with William Grant & Sons in 1962 at the age of 17. The company was already running the GLENFIDDICH and THE BELVENIE whisky distilleries, where David worked when he was needed.

His training as a Malt Master lasted 12 years, during which he learned to smell and mix the best quality Scotch Whisky. In 1974, David was appointed Malt Master by William Grant & Sons. His loyalty to the profession to this day makes him the longest-serving Malt Master of all Scotch Whisky distilleries.

During his more than 50 years with William Grant & Sons, David has developed a range of award-winning single malts and blends that have earned him some of the industry’s most prestigious awards. His skill and awards have helped the William Grant & Sons Distillery win five International Spirits Challenge (ISC) Distiller of the Year awards, four International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) awards and the World Whiskeys Awards for the first time in 2011.

One of his most important achievements was in 1980, when he developed a ripening process for two barrels that was not yet known at the time. This technique, established since then, is now known as “finishing” and is used, among other things, in the best-selling Scotch whisky “The Balvenie DoubleWood 12 Year Old”.

David’s introduction of the Glenfiddich Solera Reserve 15 Year Old was also the first and only single malt to use the innovative Solera ripening process.

As a master blender at THE BALVENIE, he developed the world’s first blends to ripen in ale and sherry barrels to bottling. His passion for the art of blending also contributed to Grant’s Family Reserve, the third largest Scotch whisky in the world, being internationally recognized as one of the best blends in the world.

David officially handed over his position as Glenfiddich Malt Master and Grants Master Blender to Brian Kinsman in 2009 after working closely with him for nearly a decade. He himself remains an integral part of the William Grant & Sons family, but dedicates himself to the role of Malt Master at the prestigious THE BALVENIE Distillery in Dufftown. David’s pioneering spirit and commitment to his craft, coupled with his modest, inconspicuous manner, have made him one of the most popular and respected malt masters in the industry.

DAVID C STEWART

I STARTED MY CAREER IN 1962 AS A WHISKY WAREHOUSE MANAGER AND DIDN’T EXPECT TO BECOME A MALT MASTER.

David has dedicated well over 50 years of his life to the Scottish whisky industry. His pioneering techniques have profoundly influenced the production methods used today. Known for his groundbreaking work, particularly in the field of barrel finishing for The Balvenie, he has developed a range of award-winning whiskies that are valued and loved by whisky connoisseurs around the world.

In 2016, Her Majesty the Queen awarded David an MBE.

As the longest serving malt master in the Scottish whisky industry, no one knows whisky as well as David C Stewart. He decides which barrels can be bottled after 12 years, which spirits are preferably stored in oak, or which are suitable for ageing for 21, 30 or more years. These decisions require an exceptional olfactory ability, because the nose of the Malt Master is ultimately the decisive factor.

AN ANCIENT ABILITY THAT IS PASSED ON BY HAND.

His knowledge and nose give him a sixth sense of how each barrel will mature. This goes so far that he can imagine every taste of a THE BALVENIE and formulate it clearly long before it is actually ripe. The Malt Master training takes up to 12 years – so patience is one of the basic requirements for anyone who wants to learn this profession. And a high degree of curiosity! Because even in the old brewing traditions there is still plenty of scope to discover new things.

David C Stewart in creating new flavors.

DAVID C STEWART

Only after I started to interpret the smell of whisky correctly, I reached the decisive turning point. From there, I began to understand how whiskey is made, how it matures, how it develops and what different qualities all Scottish malts have.

David’s extraordinary nose gives him a sixth sense of how each barrel will mature.

THE BELVENIE DCS COMPEDIUM

DAVID C STEWARTS LIFE’S WORK

Under the name THE BALVENIE DCS COMPEDIUM, Malt Master David C Stewart has created a collection of rarities, which has been expanded annually by 1 chapter since 2015. The 5th and last DCS Chapter will be released at the end of 2019. The 25 single Cask Whisky series reflects the life’s work of the experienced David C Stewart and is at the same time a homage to the history of the distillery in the Scottish town of Dufftown.

In keeping with the 25 exclusive and very rare Scotch Whisky rarities, a book has been published documenting the creation of the 5 DCS Chapters. It also contains the story of THE BALVENIE and the wisdom of David C Stewart. Global Brand Ambassador Dr. Samuel J. Simmons and David C Stewart have worked closely together to create this book.

SSG Trading GmbH   Fellerstr. 12  42555 Velbert   TEL. +49 (0)2052 95681-50   GERMANY

© 2019 - SSG Trading GmbH   Design by FRASCHE.de

THE BALVENIE DCS CHAPTER

Malt Master David C Stewart (MBE)

BIOGRAFIE

David C Stewart wurde 1945 in Ayr an der Westküste Schottlands geboren und begann 1962 im Alter von 17 Jahren eine Ausbildung bei William Grant & Sons. Das Unternehmen betrieb damals schon die Whisky Brennereinen GLENFIDDICH und THE BELVENIE, wodurch David da arbeitete, wo er gerade gebraucht wurde.

Seine Ausbildung zum Malt Master dauerte 12 Jahre, in der er das Riechen und Mischen von Scotch Whisky der besten Qualität erlernte. 1974 wurde David zum Malt Master von William Grant & Sons ernannt. Das er bis zum heutigen Tag diesem Beruf treu blieb, macht ihn zum dienstältesten Malt Master aller Scotch Whisky Brennereien.

Während seiner weitt über 50-jährigen Tätigkeit bei William Grant & Sons hat David eine Reihe von preisgekrönten Single Malts und Blends entwickelt, die ihm einige wichtige Auszeichnungen der Branche eingebracht haben. Sein Können und seine Auszeichnungen haben dazu beigetragen, dass die William Grant & Sons Distillery fünfmal zum „Distiller of the Year“ von der International Spirits Challenge (ISC) ausgezeichnet wurde, viermal vom International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC) und 2011 erstmals von den World Whiskeys Awards.

Zu seinen wichtigsten Errungenschaften gehörte 1980 die Entwicklung einer Reifung von zwei Fässern, die zu dieser Zeit noch nicht bekannt war. Diese seitdem etablierte Technik wird heute als „Finishing“ bezeichnet und wird unter anderem bei dem meistverkauften Scotch Whisky „The Balvenie DoubleWood 12 Year Old“ angewandt.

Davids Einführung des Glenfiddich Solera Reserve 15 Year Old war auch der erste und einzige Single Malt, der den innovativen Solera-Reifungsprozess verwendete.

Als Master Blender bei THE BALVENIE entwickelte er die ersten Mischungen der Welt, die in Ale- und Sherry-Fässern bis zur Abfüllung reifen durften. Seine Leidenschaft für die Kunst des Mischens trug auch dazu bei, dass Grant’s Family Reserve, der drittgrößte Scotch Whisky der Welt, international als eine der besten Blends der Welt anerkannt wurde.

David übergab seine Position als Glenfiddich Malt Master und Grants Master Blender 2009 offiziell an Brian Kinsman, nachdem er fast ein Jahrzehnt lang eng mit ihm zusammengearbeitet hatte. Er selbst bleibt fester Bestandteil der Familie William Grant & Sons, widmet sich jedoch der Aufgabe des Malt Master in der renommierten THE BALVENIE Distillery in Dufftown. Davids Pioniergeist und sein Engagement für sein Handwerk, gepaart mit seiner bescheidenen, unauffälligen Art, haben ihn zu einem der beliebtesten und angesehensten Malt Master in der Branche gemacht.

David C Stewart MBE
David C Stewart MBE vor einem 1962er Fass
David C Stewart MBE als junger Mann

DAVID C STEWART

Ich begann meine Karriere 1962 als Whisky Lagerverwalter und hatte nicht erwartet, Malt Master zu werden.

David hat weit über 50 Jahre seines Lebens der schottischen Whiskyindustrie gewidmet. Seine wegweisenden Techniken haben die heute angewandten Produktionsmethoden tiefgreifend beeinflusst. Er ist bekannt für seine bahnbrechende Arbeit, insbesondere im Bereich der Fass-Fertigstellung für The Balvenie, und hat eine Reihe preisgekrönter Whiskys entwickelt, die von Whisky Kennern auf der ganzen Welt geschätzt und geliebt werden.

2016 wurde David von Ihrer Majestät der Königin mit einem MBE ausgezeichnet.

Als der am längsten amtierende Malt Master in der schottischen Whiskyindustrie kennt niemand den Whisky so gut wie David C Stewart. Er entscheidet, welche Fässer nach 12 Jahren in Flaschen abgefüllt werden können, welche Brände vorzugsweise in Eiche gelagert werden, oder welche dafür geeignet sind, 21, 30 oder mehr Jahre zu reifen. Diese Entscheidungen setzten eine ganz außergewöhnliche Riechfähigkeit voraus, denn die Nase des Malt Master gibt letztendlich den entscheidenden Ausschlag.

EINE URALTE FÄHIGKEIT, DIE VON HAND WEITERGEGEBEN WIRD.

Sein Wissen und seine Nase geben ihm einen sechsten Sinn dafür, wie jedes Fass reifen wird. Das geht soweit, dass er sich jeden Geschmack eines THE BELVENIE vorstellen und ihn klar formulieren kann, lange Zeit bevor er tatsächlich fertig gereift ist. Die Ausbildung zum Malt Master dauert bis zu 12 Jahre – deshalb ist Geduld eine der Grundvoraussetzungen eines jeden, der diesen Beruf erlernen möchte. Und ein hohes Maß an Neugier! Denn selbst in den alten Brau-Traditionen gibt es immer noch ausreichend Spielraum, um Neues zu entdecken.

Maltmaster David C Stewart MBE
David C Stewart bei der Kreation neuer Geschmacksnoten.

DAVID C STEWART

Erst nachdem ich anfing, den Geruch von Whisky richtig zu interpretieren, erreichte ich den entscheidenden Wendepunkt. Ab da begann ich zu verstehen, wie Whisky hergestellt wird, wie er reift, wie er sich entwickelt und welche unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften alle schottischen Malts aufweisen.

Davids außergewöhnliche Nase gibt ihm einen sechsten Sinn dafür, wie jedes Fass reifen wird.

THE BELVENIE DCS COMPEDIUM

David C Stewarts Lebenswerk

Unter dem Namen THE BELVENIE DCS COMPEDIUM hat Malt Master David C Stewart eine Raritäten-Collection kreiert, die ab 2015 jährlich um 1 Chapter erweitert wurde. Das 5te und letzte DCS Chapter wird Ende 2019 erscheinen. Die insgesamt 25 Single Cask Whiskys umfassende Reihe spiegelt das Lebenswerk des erfahrenen David C Stewart wider und ist zugleich eine Hommage an die Geschichte der Destillerie in der schottischen Ortschaft Dufftown.

Passend zu den 25 exklusiven und sehr seltenen Scotch Whisky Raritäten wurde ein Buch veröffentlicht, das die Entstehung der 5 DCS Chapter dokumentiert. Es enthält auch die Geschichte von THE BALVENIE sowie die Weisheiten von David C Stewart. Für die Entstehung dieses Buches haben Global Brand Ambassador Dr. Samuel J. Simmons und David C Stewart eng zusammengearbeitet.

Maltmaster David C Stewart MBE mit dem DCS Chapter 4

SSG Trading GmbH   Fellerstr. 12  42555 Velbert   TEL. +49 (0)2052 95681-50   GERMANY

© 2019 - SSG Trading GmbH   Design by FRASCHE.de