THE BALVENIE DCS CHAPTER

Distillery Balvenie

HISTORY

On the slopes of the Convals, below the Glenfiddich distillery, is the Scottish malt whisky distillery THE BALVENIE, founded in 1892 by William J. Grant. William J. Grant also founded Glenfiddich and gave the present town of Dufftown the name Balvenie, which means “Village of Happiness”.

Already in May 1893, the first firing process took place at THE BALVENIE. When THE BALVENIE was established, savings had to be made and two used stills were bought from Lagavulin and Glen Albyn. In 1957, the number of stills was increased to four and in 1965, the distillery was renovated for the first time. A further renovation and enlargement of the whisky distillery took place in 1971. At that time David C Stewart was already working for the company, which started its unique career in the Scotch Whisky industry at Balvenie in 1962.

Until 1973, THE BALVENIE did not have its own distillery bottling. Until then, the whisky produced by THE BALVENIE had only been used for in-house veneering. Today, THE BALVENIE offers a wide range of standard distillery bottlings.

The distillery now has nine stills. Since the company was founded, the water used to make the whisky has come from the local sources of Robbie Dubh.

Due to the large production quantities, the malt cannot be provided entirely by the company’s own malting plant, which is why the distillery buys malt from large malting plants. The peat from THE BALVENIE is still hand-picked, cut and dried today.

In addition to the two old distilleries, the Kininvie distillery, the third distillery in this area, started production in 1990.

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

The Whisky

The sweet, vanilla and honey notes of the distillery character distinguish every THE BALVENIE whisky. This tasty distilling character is masterfully combined in THE BALVENIE with the aromas of various barrels.

The combination of fruity aromas with honey and vanilla makes THE BALVENIE a typical Speyside distillery.

The core assortment is extensive, with the 12-year-old Double Wood among the best-selling 12-year-old Scotch whiskies. It offers a fine aroma, with oranges and sherry. The taste develops completely with nutty sweet notes and a long, pleasant finish.

The oldest THE BALVENIE whisky dates back to 1961, when only 65 bottles were bottled from barrel 4193, making it one of the most exclusive and expensive Scotch whiskies in the world. This single malt Scotch whisky has a honey sweet aroma with an intense scent of rose petals and lavender paired with a fine spiciness. It is undoubtedly the crowning glory of the DCS CHAPTER 3, which contains a bottle of this fine whisky.

12-year-old Double Wood, one of the best-selling 12-year-old Scotch whiskies.
THE BALVENIE DCS Chapter from 1961. One of the most expensive Scotch Whisky in the world.

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

THE PRODUCTION

With 5.6 million litres of alcohol per year, Balvenie’s production output is very high for a single malt distillery. The high production volume is guaranteed by 5 Wash Stills and 6 Spirit Stills. The distillery has its own farm, its own malt floors, local water sources, a smithy, a barrel maker, a saddlery and its own pottery.

The traditional Scottish barley for the malt is grown on the Balvenie Main, a 1,000 acre field.

THE BALVENIE has preserved the traditional malting floors and is one of the few distilleries to produce whisky as it did before industrialisation. The malt at THE BALVENIE contains almost no phenols as it is not kilned over peat smoke.

Skillful craftsmen are in great demand at THE BALVENIE. They ensure that all pipes and blisters always function perfectly and that operation runs smoothly. According to the company, the shape of their bubbles and their lines are among the most important factors in creating the typical burning range character of a genuine THE BALVENIE whisky.

Barrel making is also very important for the typical taste of THE BALVENIE. The wide variety of barrels at THE BALVENIE makes this department an indispensable part of this whisky distillery.

balvenie distillery u41
balvenie distillery u42
balvenie distillery u43
balvenie distillery u44

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

THE WAREHOUSE

Almost all THE BALVENIE warehouses are traditionally built flat of grey old stone. Together with the Scottish Highland climate, the warehouses designed in this way ensure that the whisky matures particularly slowly, giving it a very soft character.

THE BALVENIE uses many different types of barrels. Mostly first and refill bourbon barrels are used to mature the whiskies, but sherry barrels, rum barrels and wine barrels are also used for certain varieties.

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

Die Pod Stills

The six Spirit Stills of the company are very large. Due to their size, they can be distilled very slowly, which means that unwanted aromas are better separated in the alcohol. The Spirit Stills are tubular and there is another reflux ball above the intermediate piece. The Lyne arm rises from the curvature upwards. The entire system ensures that unwanted aromas and fusel oils are separated from the new distillate. According to the company, this is one of the reasons why THE BALVENIE is so soft and sweet and has no sharp or intense undertones.

The five Wash Stills are smaller than the Spirit Stills and their capacity is between 9,000 and 13,000 litres. The round shape and a reflux ball are special features of the Wash Stills. The stinging bubbles are also very high and the Lyne arm drops down from the neck.

SSG Trading GmbH   Fellerstr. 12  42555 Velbert   TEL. +49 (0)2052 95681-50   GERMANY

© 2019 - SSG Trading GmbH   Design by FRASCHE.de

THE BALVENIE DCS CHAPTER

Distillery Balvenie

GESCHICHTE

An den Hängen der Convals, unterhalb der Destillerie Glenfiddich befindet sich die schottische Malt-Whisky-Brennerei THE BALVENIE die 1892 von William J. Grant gegründet wurde. William J. Grant gründete auch Glenfiddich und gab der heutigen Ortschaft Dufftown damals den Namen Balvenie, was so viel bedeutet wie „Dorf des Glücks“.

Bereits im Mai 1893 fand bei THE BALVENIE der erste Brennvorgang statt. Bei der Errichtung von THE BALVENIE musste man sparen und kaufte deshalb zwei gebrauchte Brennblasen von Lagavulin und Glen Albyn. 1957 wurde die Anzahl der Brennblasen auf vier erhöht und 1965 wurde die Brennerei erstmals renoviert. Eine weitere Renovierung und eine Vergrößerung der Whisky Brennerei fand 1971 statt. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt arbeite David C Stewart schon für das Unternehmen, der 1962 bei Balvenie seine einzigartige Karriere in der Scotch Whisky Industrie begann.

Bis 1973 hatte THE BALVENIE keine eigene Brennereiabfüllung. Bis dahin wurde der von THE BALVENIE produzierte Whisky lediglich für die hauseigene Verblendung genutzt. Heutzutage bietet THE BALVENIE jedoch ein breites Sortiment an Standard-Brennereiabfüllungen an.

Inzwischen verfügt die Brennerei über neun Brennblasen. Das Wasser zur Herstellung des Whiskys stammt seit der Gründung des Unternehmens von den lokalen Quellen Robbie Dubh.

Aufgrund der großen Produktionsmengen kann das Malz nicht komplett von der eigenen Mälzerei gestellt werden, weshalb die Brennerei Malz von Großmälzereien hinzukauft. Der Torf von THE BALVENIE wird auch heute noch handverlesen, geschnitten und getrocknet.

Neben den zwei alten Distillerien nahm 1990 mit der Destillerie Kininvie die dritte Brennerei in diesem Gebiet ihre Produktion auf.

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

Der Whisky

Der süße, mit Vanille- und Honignoten versehene Brennereicharakter zeichnet jeden THE BALVENIE Whisky aus. Dieser wohlschmeckende Brennereicharakter wird bei THE BALVENIE meisterhaft mit den Aromen von verschiedenen Fässer verbunden.

Die Vermählung von fruchtigen Aromen mit dem Honig und der Vanille macht THE BALVENIE zu einer typischen Speyside-Brennerei.

Das Kernsortiment ist umfangreich, wobei der 12-jährige Double Wood zu den am meist verkauften 12-jährigen Scotch Whiskys zählt. Er bietet ein feines Aroma, mit Orangen und Sherry. Im Geschmack entwickelt er sich vollständig mit nussig süßen Noten und einem langen, angenehmen Abgang.

Der älteste THE BALVENIE Whisky stammt aus dem Jahre 1961, von dem nur 65 Flaschen aus dem Fass 4193 abgefüllt wurden, was diesen Whisky zu einem der exklusivsten und teuersten Scotch Whisky der Welt macht. Dieser Single Malt Scotch Whisky verfügt über ein honigsüßes Aroma mit einem intensiven Duft von Rosenblättern und Lavendel, gepaart mit einer feinen Würzigkeit. Er ist zweifellos die Krönung des DCS CHAPTER 3, das eine Flasche dieses edlen Whiskys beinhaltet.

12-jähriger Double Wood, einer der am meist verkauften 12-jährigen Scotch Whiskys
12-jähriger Double Wood, einer der am meist verkauften 12-jährigen Scotch Whiskys.
THE BALVENIE DCS Chapter von 1961. Einer der teuersten Scotch Whisky der Welt
THE BALVENIE DCS Chapter von 1961. Einer der teuersten Scotch Whisky der Welt.

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

Die Produktion

Mit jährlich 5,6 Millionen Litern Alkohol ist der Produktionsausstoß bei Balvenie ist für eine Single-Malt-Brennerei sehr hoch. Die hohe Produktionsmenge wird durch 5 Wash Stills und 6 Spirit Stills gewährleistet. Die Brennerei hat eine eigene Farm, eigene Malzböden, lokale Wasserquellen, eine Schmiede, eine Fassmacherei, eine Sattlerei und eine eigene Töpferei.

Die traditionelle schottische Gerste für das Malz wird auf dem Balvenie Main, einem 1.000 Morgen großen Feld, angebaut.

THE BALVANIE hat die traditionellen Malzböden erhalten und ist eine der wenigen Brennereien, die Whisky wie zu Zeiten vor der Industrialisierung produziert. Das Malz bei THE BALVENIE enthält so gut wie keine Phenole, da es nicht über Torfrauch gedarrt wird.

Geschickte Handwerker sind bei THE BALVENIE äußerst gefragt. Sie sorgen dafür, dass alle Leitungen und Brennblasen immer einwandfrei funktionieren und der Betrieb reibungslos abläuft. Denn nach Aussage des Unternehmens zählen die Form ihrer Brennblasen und deren Leitungen zu den wichtigsten Faktoren für die Erschaffung des typischen Brennereicharakters eines echten THE BALVENIE Whiskys.

Die Fassmacherei ist ebenfalls sehr wichtig für den typischen Geschmack von THE BALVENIE. Die große Fassvielfalt bei THE BALVENIE macht diese Abteilung zu einem unverzichtbaren Bestandteil dieser Whisky Brennerei.

balvenie distillery u41
balvenie distillery u42
balvenie distillery u43

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

Das Lager

Fast alle Lagerhäuser von THE BALVENIE sind traditionell flach aus grauem, altem Stein gebaut. Zusammen mit dem schottischen Highland Klima sorgen die so gestalteten Lagerhäuser dafür, dass der Whisky besonders langsam reift, was ihm einen sehr weichen Charakter verleiht.

Bei THE BALVENIE kommen viele verschiedene Fasstypen zum Einsatz. Überwiegend werden First- und Refill-Bourbonfässer zur Reifung der Whiskys benutzt, aber auch Sherryfässer, Rum- und Weinfässer kommen bei bestimmten Sorten zum Einsatz.

DISTILLERY BALVENIE

Die Pod Stills

Die sechs Spirit Stills des Unternehmens sind sehr groß. Durch die Größe kann sehr langsam destilliert werden, wodurch unerwünschten Aromen im Alkohol besser abgesondert werden. Die Spirit Stills sind röhrenförmig und über dem Zwischenstück sitzt eine weitere Rückflusskugel. Der Lyne Arm steigt bei diesen Stills ab der Krümmung nach oben. Das gesamte System sorgt dafür, dass unerwünschten Aromen und Fuselöle vom Neudestillat getrennt werden. Laut dem Unternehmen ist dies eines der Gründe, dass THE BALVENIE so weich und süß ist und keine scharfen oder intensiven Untertöne aufweist.

Die fünf Wash Stills sind kleiner als die Spirit Stills und ihre Kapazität liegt zwischen 9.000 und 13.000 Litern. Die runde Form und eine Rückflusskugel sind besondere Merkmale der Wash Stills. Die Brennblasen sind außerdem sehr hoch und der Lyne Arm fällt ab dem Hals nach unten ab.

SSG Trading GmbH   Fellerstr. 12  42555 Velbert   TEL. +49 (0)2052 95681-50   GERMANY

© 2019 - SSG Trading GmbH   Design by FRASCHE.de